Past-Presidents | APEGA


APEGA has existed for almost 100 years, and for every year of its existence, there has been a president of Council to uphold the pillars that APEGA stands for: integrity, accountability, innovation, and service. Through the decades of change and growth, the men and women listed below led APEGA’s Council.

They have worked across the globe, from Mississippi to Venezuela, but all settled their talents here in Alberta. Each came from different walks of life, from serving in the Second World War, to teaching aeronautics, to instigating first-time overseas ventures. This incredible group made its mark on the world and on APEGA.

All of these outstanding people helped make APEGA what it is today, and all were thanked for their service with an Honorary Life Membership award—a framed medallion memento—inducting them as life members of APEGA.

An ad-blocker has been detected that will interfere with the functionality of the automatic table sorting below. Please add to your white list.

Year Sort President Sort
1920 Frederick H. Peters, P.Eng.
1921 Robert A. Brown, P.Eng.
1922 Robert G. Drinnan, P.Eng.
1923 Charles A. "Baldy" Robb, P.Eng.
1924 Lionel C. Charlesworth, P.Eng.
1925 R.W. "Billy" Boyle, P.Eng.
1926 B.L. (Benjamin) Thorne, P.Eng.
1927 William J. Cunningham, P.Eng.
1928 Robert S.L. Wilson, P.Eng.
1929 R. Bruce Baxter, P.Eng.
1930 John A. Allan, P.Eng.
1931 R.S. (Russell) Trowsdale, P.Eng.
1932 Robert J. Gibb, P.Eng.
1933 James D. Baker, P.Eng.
1934 Joseph B. de Hart, P.Eng.
1935 Penrose Melvin Sauder, P.Eng.
1936 Albert W. Haddow, P.Eng.
1937 Charles E. Garnett, P.Eng.
1938 James G. Sanderson, P.Eng.
1939 John T. "Jack" Watson, P.Eng.
1940 Howard J. McLean, P.Eng.
1941 Wilfred E. Cornish, P.Eng.
1942 Samuel G. Coultis, P.Eng.
1943 Vernon Pearson, P.Eng.
1944 Julian Garrett, P.Eng.
1945 James McMillan, P.Eng.
1946 Leonard C. Stevens, P.Eng.
1947 Joseph S. Irving, P.Geol.
1948 Chester S. Clendening, P.Eng.
1949 Robert M. Hardy, OC, P.Eng.
1950 F. Austin Brownie, P.Eng.
1951 Harold P. Randle, P.Eng.
1952 Herbert H. Moor, P.Eng.
1953 J. Jefferey Hanna, P.Eng.
1954 LeRoy Allan Thorssen, C.M., P.Eng.
1955 Thomas D. Stanley, P.Eng.
1956 J. Graham Dale, P.Eng.
1957 J. Campbell Sproule, P.Geol.
1958 George W. Govier, OC, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1959 Charles A. Stollery, P.Eng.
1960 D. Carlton Jones, P.Eng.
1961 Beverly A. Monkman, P.Eng.
1962 Norman J. Allison, P.Eng.
1963 George Ford, P.Eng., FCAE
1964 Douglas R. Craig, P.Eng.
1965 Ralph N. McManus, P.Eng. FCAE, FEC
1966 Walter A. Smith, P.Eng.
1967 Norman L. Reid, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC
1968 Percy M. Butler, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC
1969 Richard H. Swann, P.Eng.
1970 W.A.B. (Al) Saunders, P.Eng.
1971 James R. Hume, P.Geoph., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
1972 R. Alexander Hemstock, P.Eng.
1973 Ronald N. Dalby, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1974 Akira (Aki) Nawata, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1975 Frank K. Spragins, P.Eng.
1976 Elmer M. Berlie, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1977 Emil J. Sanden, P.Eng.
1978 Gerald J. Maier, OC, P.Eng., CD, LLD, FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1979 Roy O. Lindseth, CM, P.Geoph., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
1980 John R. McDougall, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, OStJ, FGC (Hon.)
1981 G. Ronald Gray, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1982 William L. Fraser, P.Eng., FEC
1983 John M. (Jack) Browning, P. Geol., FEC (Hon.)
1984 Robert H. Savage, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1985 Donald G. Bellow, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1986 William W. Blair, P.Geoph.
1987 James S. Denis, P.Eng., FEC
1988 Thomas W. Chambers, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1989 David T. Irving, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1990 Norman Orr, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1991 Noel A. Cleland, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1992 Barry Lester, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1993 J.A. (Tony) Howard, P.Eng., CMC, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1994 David W. Devenny, P.Geol., P.Eng., FGC, FCAE, FEC
1995 John R. Wood, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1996 Frederick D. Otto, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1997 Dennis A. Lindberg, P.Eng.
1998 D.R. Dan Motyka, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1999 Darrel J. Danyluk, P.Eng., FEIC, FCSCE, MASCE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2000 S.E. (Sue) Evison (Aitken), P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2001 H.D. (Dale) Miller, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2002 R.S. Tenove, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2003 M.W. (Mike) Smyth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2004 Linda C. Van Gastel, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2005 L.B. (Larry) Staples, P.Eng., FEC, FCAE, FGC (Hon.)
2006 D.B. (David) Chalcroft, P.Eng., FCAE, FCSSE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2007 John G.F. McLeod, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2008 Gordon D. Williams, P.Geol., PhD, FGC, FEC (Hon.)
2009 W. James (Jim) Beckett, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2010 Kim Farwell, P.Eng., MBA, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2011 James (Jim) E. Smith, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2012 Leah Lawrence, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2013 Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
2014 Jim Gilliland, P.Eng., PhD, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2015 Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016 Steve E. Hrudey, P.Eng., PhD, FCAE, FRSC, FSRA, IWAF, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2017 Jane Tink, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2018 Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)