APEGA Frank Spragins Technical Award

This award is presented to an individual who has been recognized by their peers for their integrity, technical expertise, and accomplishments in engineering or geoscience

Nominations are open for the 2024 Summit Awards! Get your nomination in before September 15.

Frank Spragins Technical Award Criteria

Nominations are evaluated and scored for up to 100 points. Be sure to write your nomination to address as much of these criteria as possible for the best chance at being selected.

  1. Work-Related Achievements (60 Points)
  2. Service to the Profession (20 Points)
  3. Service to the Community (20 Points)
  4. Personal and General Information (Not Scored)


Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

You can take up to 30 days to get your nomination submitted using the Save & Resume button at the bottom of each page of the nomination form.

Get tips on writing a great nomination, and how we assess nominations

Download a Word document template if you'd rather work offline

Email [email protected] if you need more help or have any questions

What does it take be a Frank Spragins Technical Award recipient?

Here are some of our Frank Spragins Technical Award recipients. Explore their profiles to learn what it takes to receive the award.

Ulrich (Rick) Hermann, P.Eng.

2023 Recipient

Dale Miller, P.Eng., P.E., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

2022 Recipient

Marcelo Epstein, P.Eng., PhD

2020 Recipient

Ian Gates, P.Eng., PhD

2019 Recipient

2024 Summit Awards - Nominations are open. Get yours in before Sept. 15. Start your nomination.