APEGA Centennial Leadership Award

This award is presented to a member of APEGA who has attained the highest distinction relating to engineering or geoscience through directorship of an outstanding project, original research or invention, or an exemplary career in teaching.

The 2022 Summit Awards nomination period has closed. Please check back in summer 2022 to nominate someone for the 2023 awards.

Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

Learn more about the nomination process

Evaluation Considerations for the Centennial Leadership Award

Nominations are evaluated and scored for up to 100 points. Be sure to write your nomination to address as much of these criteria as possible for the best chance at being selected.

  1. Work-Related Achievements (60 points)
    • Engineering/geoscience excellence and recognition of achievements with the professions, business or industry or the education sector that has set a benchmark for engineers/geoscientists to strive for (This could include executive directorship of an outstanding project or continuing enterprise or invention, research or original work or teaching.)
  2. Service to the Profession (20 Points)
    • Public education and understanding the role of engineering or geoscience and professional engineers/geoscientists in Canadian society
    • Active participation in engineering/geoscience associations, societies, institutes, etc.
  3. Service to the Community (20 Points)
    • Active participation in commissions, voluntary organizations, community organizations and other paid or unpaid work beyond the profession
  4. Personal and General Information (Not Scored)
    • Education, publications, directorships, honours and decorations and other relevant information
    • Member of APEGA for a minimum of five years

Recent Recipients of the Centennial Leadership Award

Alison Thompson, P.Eng.

2020 Recipient

Dr. Nigel Shrive, P.Eng.

2019 Recipient

Leah Lawrence, P.Eng.

2018 Recipient

Gary Faulkner, P.Eng., PhD

2017 Recipient