APEGA Community Service Award

This award is presented to individuals who have made significant improvements to a community in need through efforts in the engineering or geoscience profession.

Nominations for the 2023 Summit Awards are now closed. Award recipients will be announced in January 2023.

Community Service Award Criteria

Nominations are evaluated and scored for up to 100 points. Be sure to write your nomination to address as much of these criteria as possible for the best chance at being selected.

  1. Service to the Community (70 points)
  2. Service to the Profession (20 Points)
  3. Work-Related Achievements (10 Points)
  4. Personal and General Information (Not Scored)

Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

You can take up to 30 days to get your nomination submitted using the Save & Resume button at the bottom of each page of the nomination form.

Get tips on writing a great nomination, and how we assess nominations

Download a Word document template if you'd rather work offline

Email [email protected] if you need more help or have any questions

What does it take to be a Community Service award recipient?

Here are some of our Community Service award recipients. Explore their profiles to learn what it takes to receive the award.

Michael Halliwell, P.Eng.

2020 Recipient

Russ Wlad, P.Eng.

2019 Recipient

Reza Nasseri, P.Eng.

2018 Recipient

Tracey Stock, P.Eng., PhD

2017 Recipient