APEGA Outstanding Mentor Award

This award is presented to an individual who has excelled as a mentor and who have supported and contributed to their mentees’ or proteges’ ongoing development.

Nominations for the 2024 Summit Awards have closed. Next year's nominations will open summer 2024. 

Join us April 25, 2024 at the Summit Awards Gala to find out who this year's recipients are.

Outstanding Mentor Award Criteria

Nominations are evaluated and scored for up to 100 points. Be sure to write your nomination to address as much of these criteria as possible for the best chance at being selected.

  1. Ongoing Commitment to Mentoring (40 Points)
  2. Effectiveness as a Mentor (20 Points)
  3. Participation as a Mentor (20 Points)
  4. Letter from Mentee (20 points)
  5. Personal and General Information (Not Scored)


Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

You can take up to 30 days to get your nomination submitted using the Save & Resume button at the bottom of each page of the nomination form.

Get tips on writing a great nomination, and how we assess nominations

Download a Word document template if you'd rather work offline

Email [email protected] if you need more help or have any questions

What does it take be an Outstanding Mentor Award recipient?

Here are some of our Outstanding Mentor award recipients. Explore their profiles to learn what it takes to receive the award.

Mr. Dean Kmech, P.Eng.

2024 Recipient

Jeff Macdonald, P.Eng.

2023 Recipient

Cameron Franchuk, P.Eng.

2022 Recipient

James Popowich, P.Eng

2020 Recipient