Election | APEGA


Each year, an APEGA Council election is held. Voting is conducted online over 30 days in early spring so that all members have an equal opportunity to take part and have their voices heard.

Council Nominations

To run for Council, you must be a member in good standing with an eligible membership type and able to commit to the duties of a Councillor and a three-year term. APEGA publishes the top-ranked Council needs in the summer issue of The PEG each year.

If you want to run for Council, you must complete the nomination form in the Member Self-Service Centre during the nomination period, which was August 19 to September 26, 2019. Nominations are now CLOSED for 2019.

Read more about nominations

Voting in the Election

APEGA Election Infographic thumbnail - click to view the full-size version

Click to view the full size infographic

You can vote in the APEGA Election if you are an active member with an eligible membership type at the time of the election.

  • Voting Opens: Monday, February 3, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.
  • Voting Closes: Thursday, March 5, 2020 at 4:30 p.m.


Eligible to Vote

  • Life members
  • Professional members (P.Eng., P.Geo., P.Geol., or P.Geoph.)
  • Professional licensees

Ineligible to Vote

  • Applicants
  • Exam candidates or students
  • Honorary members
  • Licensees
  • Members-in-training (E.I.T. or G.I.T.)
  • Provisional licensees