Yellowhead Branch

Message From the Chair

Thank you for visiting the APEGA webpage for the Yellowhead Branch. The Branch is unique in that it comprises of engineers and geoscientists from varying professions spread across different three main towns in Northern Alberta, including Whitecourt, Edson and Hinton. Our primary objective is to setup a welcoming forum for all engineers and geoscientists in their respective professions to seek questions about their APEGA professional practice, and to provide great networking opportunities to all who are interested.

The Yellowhead Branch partakes in various activities throughout the year, including:

  1. Science activities with youth groups of all different ages.
  2. Social gathering events at public venues like restaurants to encourage the growth of the Branch.
  3. Discuss important news received from APEGA in our monthly meetings.
  4. Organize tours of various plant facilities where the various members of the Yellowhead Branch work.

Beside the above-mentioned activities, we the members of the executive team, always strive to make the Yellowhead Branch more dynamic and responsive to the needs of our members-at-large and always welcome feedback on how we can do our jobs better.

As the new chair, I welcome all engineers and geoscientists from all disciplines who wish to join us in our various events posted on the APEGA website.

Branch Executive

The Branch Executives are members elected at the Annual General Meeting of each branch. They are governed by the Branch manual.

The following APEGA members are volunteering their time to be this year's Branch Executives.

ChairLeonard Sanche, P.Eng.
TreasurerStephen Tapp, P.Eng.
Members-at-LargeCarson Basaraba, P.Eng.
Kamruz Kamruzzaman, P.Eng.
Mohammad Medhat, P.Eng.
Colleen Mireau, P.Eng.
Murray Ostrander, P.Eng.
Surendra Sing, P.Eng.
Dorothy Tse, P.Eng.
Tony Xie, P.Eng.

Get Connected

Connect with Your Branch

Join the Yellowhead Branch's Facebook group to keep in touch with fellow professionals and find out what's new in your region.

See the Yellowhead Branch events that have been coordinated by branch volunteers.

See APEGA's online events, open to Members everywhere.

Email [email protected] to contact the volunteers who manage the Branch. APEGA does not monitor this email account.

In addition to the executive, the Branch is supported by two APEGA staff members:

  • Mohamed El Daly, P.Eng., Director, Outreach and Product Services
  • Ashley Pessell, Southern Alberta Branch Coordinator, who can be reached at [email protected]

Connect with APEGA

Visit APEGA's events calendar to view branch events, professional development seminars, legislative review sessions, and more.

Read APEGA's news page, which includes Branch stories and other items of interest.

Contact APEGA directly with questions about your application or membership.

Sign up or unsubscribe for Branch newsletters and the e-PEG.

Branch Statistics

As of March 2021, the Yellowhead Branch has:

  • 15 Permit Holders
    • 14 Engineering Permit Holders
    • 1 Geoscience Permit Holder
  • 182 Members
    • 111 Professional Members (27% Female)*
      • 104 Professional Engineers
      • 7 Professional Geoscientists
    • 71 Members-in-Training (25% Female)*
      • 63 Engineers-in-Training
      • 8 Geoscientists-in-Training

*APEGA aims to achieve 30% female professionals by 2030. Learn more about the 30 by 30 Initiative.


The following communities are part of the Yellowhead Branch:

Alder Flats
Blue Ridge
Buck Creek
Carrot Creek
Drayton Valley
Fox Creek
Grande Cache
Green Court
Muskeg River
Niton Junction
Rochfort Bridge
Rocky Rapids
Violet Grove