Nominating Committee

As part of the APEGA Council election, the Nominating Committee is responsible for ensuring that the knowledge, skills, and attributes of Council election candidates have been assessed through a transparent, formal, and structured process.

The committee has between five and seven members:

  • three to five professional members or licensees of APEGA
  • one to three lay members from the general public

Committee members should demonstrate an acute understanding of APEGA’s role as a self-regulating body; have experience identifying, selecting, and evaluating nominees; and show a commitment to the principles of equity, diversity, and inclusion.


  • Review and understand the competencies needed for Council as a whole
  • Conduct a gap analysis to determine priorities for candidate skills and experience
  • Oversee the process of receiving nominations from the membership at large
  • Ensure candidates running for Council are qualified
  • Assess nominees using a structured competency-based approach
  • Identify candidates to appear on the election ballot

Nominating Committee Roster

APEGA’s Nominating Committee is made up of seven people: four professional members and three lay members. An asterisk (*) indicates a two-year term appointment.

Professional Members

  • RaeAnne Leach, P.Eng., PMP, FEC, FGC (Hon.) (chair)*
  • George Eynon, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.), ICD.D
  • Lisa Doig, P.Eng., MBA, FEC, FGC (Hon.)*
  • Darren Hardy, P.Eng.*

Lay Members

  • Len Polsky, B. Comm., LL.B., B.C.L.
  • Shannon Neighbour
  • Karen Marner, BA, CPHR, SPHRi, SHRM-SCP, PI*

Read more about how the roster was determined