2013: Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.) | APEGA

2013: Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)

Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)Colin was born and raised in Dundas, ON, and graduated from McMaster University with an Honours B.Sc. degree in Geology and Geography.

Recruited by Amoco Canada Petroleum Co. Ltd., Colin moved to Calgary, where he held progressively senior positions throughout his 25 years with the company. In 1980, he was transferred to Tulsa, OK, for advanced petrophysical training and, upon his return, held supervisory positions in exploitation and development, strategic planning, production business units and prospect generation teams. In 1999, he joined Petrorep Resources (A&D group) and in 2000 joined Encana Corporation, first as an A&D Evaluations Geologist within the Shallow Gas business unit and later as a Resource Development Manager and an Advisor in Corporate Business Development. Colin retired in 2014 and provides consulting services to the petroleum industry.

Colin and his wife, Maryann, live in Calgary. They have two children and two grandchildren.


APEGA Activities

  • APEGA Past-President      (2014–present)
  • APEGA      President (2013–2014)
  • APEGA      President Elect (2012–2013)
  • APEGA Vice      President (2011–2012)
  • APEGA      Councillor (2009–2011)
  • Member,      Finance Committee (2011–2012)
  • Chair,      Geoscience Committee (2009–2011)
  • Member, Strategic      Planning Committee (2009–2011)
  • Member, Public      Issues Committee (2010–2011)
  • Member,      Geoscience Committee (2007–2013)
  • Member (1977–present)


Affiliations, Corporate or Community Service

  • Vice-President,      President and Past-President, Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists      (CSPG), (2006–2008)
  • Assistant      Editor, CSPG Reservoir (2008–2013)
  • Member,      Volunteer Management Committee, CSPG (2001–2009)
  • Services      Director, Executive Committee, CSPG (1999–2000)
  • Chair, Core      Conference Committee, CSPG (1995)
  • Chair, History      and Archives Committee, CSPG (1988–1992)
  • Judge, Calgary      Youth Science Fair (2004–2006)
  • Leader, Boy      Scouts of Canada (1981–1987)
  • Chair, Media      and Public Affairs, CSPG (1977–1980)