Council | APEGA


Council is APEGA's governing body. Members of Council set direction, develop policy, ensure resources, and provide oversight. You can find a detailed list of Council's authorities and responsibilities in the Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act.

Council uses a governance model similar to a corporate board structure. This model uses committees, working groups, and task forces to carry out many of its duties.

Council meets quarterly, and its meeting minutes are available to the public. Committees and working groups usually meet once between each Council meeting.

Council is made up of 16 elected professional members, including a Council president, plus three appointed public members. At the end of all Council presidents’ terms, they are presented the Honorary Life Membership award to recognize their year of service. This is given in the form of a framed medallion at the AGM and is an exclusive honour to the outgoing president.

Engineers Canada and Geoscientists Canada directors attend Council meetings but do not sit as Councillors. They are not involved in Council committee work, and they do not vote in Council meetings. 

Upcoming Council Meetings

  • December 10-11, 2019 (Edmonton)
  • March 18-19, 2020 (Calgary)
  • AGM: April 24, 2020 (Edmonton)

Current Council


View all of APEGA's Past-Presidents 

Councillors: Terms Expire at the 2020 Annual General Meeting

Councillors: Terms Expire at the 2021 Annual General Meeting

Councillors: Terms Expire at the 2022 Annual General Meeting

Public Members on Council

National Organizations

Engineers Canada Directors

Geoscientists Canada Director