Congratulations to the 2024 Ivan Finlay Award Recipients

Ivan Finlay Leadership Award

APEGA is proud to announce the 10 students receiving the 2024 Ivan Finlay Leadership Award, presented to undergraduate and graduate engineering or geoscience students who demonstrate inclusive leadership and equity in their campus or community activities.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Warren Acheampong, University of Alberta, petroleum engineering
  • Rachana Adhikari, University of Alberta, E.I.T., geotechnical engineering
  • Mona Ahmadirad, University of Alberta, E.I.T., civil and industrial engineering
  • Dhir Bid, University of Alberta, mechanical engineering
  • Ryan Costello, University of Alberta, civil and environmental engineering
  • Maha Ead, University of Alberta, E.I.T., mechanical engineering
  • Jolie Gan, University of Calgary, software engineering
  • Owen Hauck, University of Alberta, mechanical engineering
  • Dylan Maczko, University of Calgary, civil and environmental engineering
  • Arielle O’Brian, University of Alberta, first-year engineering student

This award is named after Ivan Finlay, a professional engineer who specialized in electrical engineering. He served as APEGA’s registrar from 1959 to 1978 and rose through the public service sector to become Alberta’s chief electrical inspector.

Known for his professionalism, integrity, and innovative perspective, Ivan Finlay inspired 20 other past-presidents who worked with him to create this award in his honour, representing their shared, unwavering confidence in the next generation of professional engineers and geoscientists.

Applications for the 2025 award period will open in the fall.


Top Articles