Voters Choose 2020-2021 APEGA Council

Over the past month, APEGA and many of our members and permit holders have changed the way we work, think, and above all, connect. This ability to adapt is one of our greatest contributions to the communities we support as we make our way forward.

On February 3, polls for APEGA Election 2020 opened. To ensure the election was fair and defensible, we used a third-party provider—Simply Voting—to collect and count the votes received. APEGA staff did not have any access to the voting process or the ballots. After the polls closed on March 5, we received the results from Simply Voting, contacted the candidates, and informed the public of the newly elected and re-elected representatives who would join our diverse Council during APEGA’s centennial year.

However, due to the public health emergency and the inability to gather publicly to read out the Election results at the annual general meeting as required under Bylaw 9(2), Council supports the certification provided by Simply Voting and confirms the integrity and security of the vote. Under Bylaw 11, Council has declared that the results of the 2020 annual election of nominees for Council are valid. For transparency, we are publicly releasing the 2020 APEGA Council Election Ballot Counting Committee Report.

We hope this information will hearten you that the Council that will steer us through this next year—and whatever it may hold for us—is the skilled and experienced Council that voters have chosen.

Thank you for taking part in the election and making your voices heard. As we make our way through this next year of self-regulation and ensuring public safety, we are stronger together.

See the Report and Letter of Certification

Voters have spoken in APEGA Election 2020, choosing a corporate leader with public and private sector experience as the 2020-2021 President-Elect.

Brian Pearse, P.Eng., will serve in the role for one year before becoming President for the 2021-2022 term. Joining him will be Lisa Doig, P.Eng., as Vice-President for the 2020-2021 term.

The 2020-2021 incoming President is John Van der Put, P.Eng., who was voted onto Council last year as President-Elect. Outgoing President George Eynon, P.Geo., will move into the role of Past-President.

Four other professional members were voted in as Councillors:

Margaret Allan, P.Eng., P.Geo. (newly elected)
Darren Hardy, P.Eng. (re-elected)
RaeAnne Leach, P.Eng. (re-elected)
Theresa Watson, P.Eng. (newly elected)

The online election ran from February 3 to March 5. Voter turnout was 17.1 per cent, with 9,654 members placing their votes.

The new President and Councillors will be sworn in during APEGA’s Annual General Meeting in Edmonton on April 24.

Update on AGM, Summit Awards and PD Conference

With the recent developments surrounding COVID-19 in Alberta and announcements by Canadian government and health agencies, APEGA has decided to postpone the 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM), Summit Awards, and Professional Development Conference until further notice. Registration fees will be refunded.

The actions Albertans take today will determine how this situation unfolds and we encourage everyone to prioritize their well-being and take the necessary steps to stay healthy.

See more COVID-19 updates



Top Articles