APEGA Research Excellence Award

This award is presented to an individual, team, or project that has conducted research in engineering and geoscience that has improved our economic and social well-being.
The 2022 Summit Awards nomination period has closed. Please check back in summer 2022 to nominate someone for the 2023 awards.

Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

Learn more about the nomination process

Evaluation Considerations for the Research Excellence Award

Nominations are evaluated and scored for up to 100 points. Be sure to write your nomination to address as much of these criteria as possible for the best chance at being selected.

  1. Problem Description (15 points)
    • Summary of the research
  2. Nature of the Research (30 points)
    • Originality, creativity and significance of the research
  3. Dissemination of gained knowledge (30 points)
    • What are the benefits of said research?
    • How will they benefit society, the professions?
  4. Evidence of impact (25 points)
    • External recognition (through papers, presentations, awards, recognition by professional associations)
    • Internal recognition (through recognition by employer, educational institution)
    • Impact on the field

Recent Recipients of the Research Excellence Award

Amit Kumar, P.Eng., PhD

2020 Recipient

Nader Mahinpey, P.Eng., PhD

2019 Recipient

Yang Gao, P.Eng., PhD

2018 Recipient

Josephine Hill, P.Eng., PhD

2017 Recipient