APEGA Honorary Membership Award

This award is presented to an individual who is not an APEGA member and has greatly improved society and the engineering or geoscience professions.

Nominations for the 2024 Summit Awards have closed. Next year's nominations will open summer 2024. 

Join us April 25, 2024 at the Summit Awards Gala to find out who this year's recipients are.

Honorary Membership Award Criteria

Nominees will be evaluated based on their initiative, leadership and eminent service to the engineering and/or geoscience professions resulting in the betterment of society. These may take the form of the evaluation considerations noted below.


  • Honorary Members are exempt from payment of fees, but Honorary Membership shall not confer the right to vote, to practice as, or to be called a Professional Engineer or Professional Geoscientist.
  • Persons eligible for APEGA membership shall not be considered as candidates for this Award.
  • There shall at no time be more than 30 Honorary Members in the Association.
  • Bylaw 27 requires a unanimous vote by Council to award Honorary Membership.

Evaluation Considerations

  1. Executive directorship of an outstanding project or continuing enterprise
  2. Invention, research or original work
  3. Teaching

Personal and General Information

  • Education, publications, directorships, honours and decorations and other relevant information


Nominating Someone for an Award

APEGA relies on its members and permit holders, and even the public, to nominate outstanding individuals in the professions. Nomination is always free, and you can submit as many nominations as you like. 

You can take up to 30 days to get your nomination submitted using the Save & Resume button at the bottom of each page of the nomination form.

Get tips on writing a great nomination, and how we assess nominations

Download a Word document template if you'd rather work offline

Email [email protected] if you need more help or have any questions

What does it take be a Honorary Membership award recipient?

Here are some of our Honorary Membership award recipients. Explore their profiles to learn what it takes to receive the award.

Robin Gardiner

2016 Recipient