Voters Choose 2019-2020 APEGA Council | APEGA

Voters Choose 2019-2020 APEGA Council

council election

Voters have spoken in APEGA Election 2019, choosing an energy industry executive as the 2019-2020 President-Elect. John Van der Put, P.Eng., will serve in the role for one year before becoming President for the 2020-2021 term. Joining him will be Tim Joseph, P.Eng., PhD, as Vice-President for the 2019-2020 term.

The 2019-2020 incoming President is George Eynon, P.Geo., who was voted onto Council last year as President-Elect. Outgoing President Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., will move into the role of Past-President.

Four other professional members were voted in as Councillors:

David Johnson, P.Geo. (newly elected)

Manon Plante, P.Eng. (re-elected)

Melanie Popp, P.Eng. (newly elected)

Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng. (re-elected)

The online election ran from February 11 to March 14. Voter turnout increased to 19.3 per cent from 15.1, with 11,172 members placing their votes.

The new President and Councillors will be sworn in during APEGA’s Annual General Meeting in Calgary on April 26.

Join Us at APEGA AGM & Conference 2019

Join us at our Annual General Meeting & Conference on April 25 and 26 at the TELUS Convention Centre in Calgary to welcome your new President and Councillors and take part in our biggest event of the year. We’ve hand-picked a selection of educational sessions to bring you, featuring engaging and relevant information for professional engineers and professional geoscientists in Alberta. You can earn up to 10 continuing professional development hours for attending the conference. And we’d love to save you a seat at the Summit Awards, where we will be recognizing the valuable contributions your peers are making to the professions and to their communities.

Register for the conference, the Summit Awards, and the AGM today and don’t miss out.

Read the news release

Read the backgrounder