APEGA Past-President Named Alberta Order of Excellence Inductee | APEGA

APEGA Past-President Named Alberta Order of Excellence Inductee

Dr. Steve Hrudey Professional Engineer Canmore

APEGA Past-President Dr. Steve E. Hrudey, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), FCAE, FRSC, FSRA, IWAF is among eight Albertans who will receive the province’s highest civilian honour in 2017.

He will become a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence at a ceremony on October 19.

The Alberta Order of Excellence became an official part of the Canadian Honours System in 1979. Since then, only 165 people have been named to the Order, which recognizes those who have served Albertans with excellence and distinction. He joins 15 other APEGA Professional Members inducted into the Order.

A world-renowned expert in drinking water safety, Dr. Hrudey served for 13 years on the Alberta Environmental Appeals Board and was board chair from 2005 to 2009. He has served on 28 expert panels on public policy issues, 10 of them as chair.

A University of Alberta Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry professor emeritus in analytical and environmental toxicology, Dr. Hrudey was born in Edmonton and now lives in Canmore.

Full News Release