APEGA Announces Election 2019 Candidates | APEGA

APEGA Announces Election 2019 Candidates

Updated January 18, 2019

The nomination period is over for APEGA Election 2019, and candidates for President and Council have been reviewed by the Nominating Committee. Their names appear here, but more information on candidates and ways to connect with them will follow soon in The PEG magazine and elsewhere on apega.ca.

APEGA’s online election takes place from February 11 to March 14, 2019. You’ll be able to place up to five votes in all: one for President, four for Council. The candidate for President who receives the most votes will serve as President-Elect, advancing to the actual presidency in 2020. The second-place finisher will serve as Vice-President.

Note: the President for the 2019-2020 term was elected last year, in APEGA Election 2018. Your incoming President is George Eynon, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.). Mr. Eynon officially advances from President-Elect to President at the APEGA Annual General Meeting, April 26, 2019, in Calgary.

In the Council portion of the upcoming election, at least the top four will join Council. Sometimes, to make sure there’s a full complement of elected members on Council, more than the top four are elected.

Candidates for President (2020-2021 Term)

Dr. Tim Joseph, P.Eng.*  

Shawn Morrison, P.Eng.*

John Van der Put, P.Eng.*

Candidates for Council (Term Beginning 2019)

Iyub Adam, P.Eng.

Dr. Ali Chamanara, P.Eng.*

Dr. Swapan Das, P.Eng.

Dr. David Johnson, P.Geo.*

Geoffrey Kneller, P.Eng.*

Jonathan Matthews, P.Eng.*

Manon Plante, P.Eng.*  

Melanie Popp, P.Eng.*

Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng.*

Dr. Lian Zhao, P.Eng.

*Candidates recommended by the APEGA Nominating Committee