

## **APEGA Council Election Ballot Counting Committee Report**

I, Blair Bisson, P.Eng., was the Chair of the Ballot Counting Committee for the APEGA 2022 Council election. The Ballot Counting Committee, created according to Section 7 of the Bylaws, consisted of six Professional Members. The Committee met on March 11, 2022, to review and validate all electronic and paper ballots received during the election to establish the election results.

As in previous years, and per the legislation, both paper and electronic ballots were available to the membership. Electronic voting has been used since 2009, and for the fourth year in a row, Simply Voting Inc. supplied the electronic ballot. Simply Voting is a Canadian company whose systems are designed to eliminate the risk of electoral fraud or breach of secrecy. The use of this vendor ensures that members are authenticated before accessing the ballot, and each member casts only one vote. Ballots are vigorously checked for validity and stored securely and anonymously until the close of the election. APEGA does not see the individual votes or the progress of the election during polls.

This year, a total of 8,056 votes were cast, which is 14.5 percent of eligible voters. There was one paper ballot distributed during polls; however, it was not returned to the Edmonton Office before the close of polls on Thursday, March 10, 2022.

The election results were reviewed, verified, and validated by all six members of the Committee before presentation to the President and the Registrar & Chief Executive Officer. The Committee confirmed that the election was conducted per the relevant election Bylaws and procedures.

The Ballot Counting Committee is satisfied that the election was conducted in an impartial manner and that results of the 2022 Council election are as follows:

- For President, **Lisa Doig, P.Eng.,** per Bylaw 8(2).
- For Incoming President (President-Elect), receiving the highest number of votes on the Executive Ballot per Bylaw 8(1), is **Manon Plante, P.Eng**, with **Tracey Stock, P.Eng**, receiving the second-highest number of votes is elected Vice-President.
- For Council, the four candidates receiving the highest number of votes, per Bylaw 8(3) are:
  - Lorna Harron, P.Eng.
  - Wally Kozak, P.Eng.
  - Dean Mullin, P.Eng.
  - Wendy Shier, P.Geo.
- Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng. will receive a one-year term to cover the vacancy created by the executive ballot.

ORIGINAL SIGNED	March 16, 2022
Blair Bisson, P.Eng.	Date