

APEGA Council Election Ballot Counting Committee Report

I, Blair Bisson, P.Eng., was the Chair of the Ballot Counting Committee for the APEGA 2021 Council election. The Ballot Counting Committee, created according to Section 7 of the Bylaws, consisted of six Professional Members. The Committee met on March 12, 2021, to review and validate all electronic and paper ballots received during the election to establish the election results.

As in previous years, and per the legislation, both paper and electronic ballots were available to the membership. Electronic voting has been used since 2009, and for the third year in a row, Simply Voting Inc. supplied the electronic ballot. Simply Voting is a Canadian company whose systems are designed to eliminate the risk of electoral fraud or breach of secrecy. This vendor's use ensures that members are authenticated before accessing the ballot, and each member casts only one vote. Ballots are vigorously checked for validity and stored securely and anonymously until the close of the election. APEGA does not see the individual votes or the progress of the election during polls.

This year, a total of 10,505 votes were cast, which is 18.1 percent of eligible voters. There were two paper ballots distributed during polls. Only one was returned to the Edmonton office before the close of polls.

The election results were reviewed, verified, and validated by all six members of the Committee before presentation to the President and the Registrar & Chief Executive Officer. The Committee confirmed that the election was conducted per the relevant election Bylaws and procedures.

The Ballot Counting Committee is satisfied that the election was conducted in an impartial manner and that the results of the 2021 Council election are as follows:

- For President, Brian Pearse, P.Eng., per Bylaw 8(2).
- For Incoming President (President-Elect), receiving the highest number of votes on the executive ballot per Bylaw 8(1), is **Lisa Doig**, **P.Eng**., with **Manon Plante**, **P.Eng**. elected as Vice-President.
- For Council, the candidates receiving three-year terms, per Bylaw 8(3), are:
 - Claudia Gomez-Villeneuve, P.Eng.
 - Seema Makwana, P.Eng.
 - Tracey Stock, P.Eng.
 - Victoria Wishart, P.Eng.
- Geoffrey Kneller, P.Eng. will receive a one-year term to cover the vacancy created by the executive ballot.

The electronic results also included the results of the virtual bylaw question, which were 10206 (98.0%) votes in favour, 211 (2.0%) votes opposed, and 86 abstain (0.8%).

votes in favour, 211 (2.0%) votes opposed, and 86 abstain (0.8%).	
ORIGINAL SIGNED	March 17, 2021
Blair Bisson, P.Eng.	Date