

102nd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Lisa Doig, P.Eng., Chair Electronic Meeting April 28, 2023, 2:00-5:00 PM

MINUTES

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the electronic meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

2.0 CREDENTIALS REPORT

Jay Nagendran, P.Eng., FCAE, ICD.D, FEC, FGC (Hon.), Registrar & CEO and Chair of the Credentials Committee, announced that at the start of the meeting there were 857 professional members in attendance online. The Chair declared that a quorum was present.

3.0 SPECIAL RULES FOR THE MEETING

At a meeting of Council on March 23, 2023, pursuant to the authority granted by the *Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act* and the APEGA Bylaws, the APEGA Council adopted the 2023 Annual General Meeting Special Rules that will apply for this meeting. These Special Rules were posted March 27, 2023, on the APEGA website.

The Chair called on Councillor Dean Mullin, P.Eng., to read the 2023 Annual General Meeting Special Rules.

4.0 **APPOINTMENTS**

In accordance with the Special Rules, the Chair appointed: Penelope Haro Aranda as Recording Secretary, and Jennifer Freund, PRP, as Parliamentarian.

The Chair also appointed Margaret Allan, P.Eng., P.Geo., Lorna Harron, P.Eng., and Seema Makwana, P.Eng. as members of the Minutes Approval Committee, to review and approve the minutes of the meeting.

5.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The Chair called on Councillor Wendy Shier, P. Geo. to move approval of the agenda. The proposed agenda was made available to each member in attendance and was also posted on APEGA's website for public viewing on March 27, 2023.

MOTION AGM 23-01

Moved by Wendy Shier, P.Geo., to adopt the proposed agenda, which was approved by Council.

The Chair reminded the assembly that per the Special Rules of the meeting, all motions are deemed seconded.

The Chair then called for a vote on the approval of the agenda as presented, with the following results:

Number of votes cast: 912 Necessary for adoption (majority): 457 In favour: 902 votes Opposed: 10 votes

The motion was adopted.

6.0 INTRODUCTIONS

6.1 HEAD TABLE

The Chair introduced the head table: President Lisa Doig, P. Eng., President-Elect Manon Plante, P. Eng., Vice President Tracey Stock, P. Eng., Past-President Brian Pearse, P. Eng., Registrar and CEO Jay Nagendran, P. Eng., and Parliamentarian Jennifer Freund, PRP.

6.2 SPECIAL GUESTS

The Chair recognized several special guests attending the meeting.

7.0 GREETINGS

Video greetings from Engineers Canada and from Geoscientists Canada were played.

8.0 PAYMENT OF RESPECT TO MEMBERS DECEASED SINCE THE 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A moment of silence was observed in respect of APEGA members deceased since the last Annual General Meeting, as well as for those who have lost their lives, suffered injury or illness on the job, or experienced a work-related tragedy, in observation of the National Day of Mourning.

9.0 MINUTES OF THE 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The minutes of the 2022 AGM were reviewed and approved by the 2022 Minutes Approval Committee. The minutes of the 2022 AGM are posted on APEGA's website.

10.0 BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was no business arising from the minutes.

11.0 ADDRESS OF THE PRESIDENT

The President delivered her address.

12.0 REGISTRAR & CEO'S REPORT

The Registrar & CEO delivered his oral report. The Chair referenced that the RCEO Report can be found in APEGA's 2022 Annual Report.

13.0 AUDITOR'S REPORT

The Chair called on Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng., Chair of the Audit Committee, to present the 2022 Annual Audited Financial Statements. As there were no objections, the Auditor's Report was not read.

The Audit Committee Chair reported the 2022 Summary of Financial Statements and the Summary of Operations. The summarized financial statements are included in the Annual Report. The full Financial Statements, including the Auditor's Report, are available on the APEGA website.

No questions were raised about the financial statements.

14.0 APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2023

MOTION AGM 23-02

Moved by Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng., as recommended by Council, that BDO Canada LLP be hereby appointed auditor for the Association for 2023 and that the Registrar & CEO be authorized and instructed to set the remuneration of the auditor.

The Chair reminded the assembly that per the Special Rules of the meeting, all motions are deemed seconded.

The Chair then called for a vote on the appointment of the auditor for 2023 with the following results:

Number of votes cast: 788 Necessary for adoption (majority): 395 In favour: 769 Opposed: 19

The motion was adopted.

The Chair of the Audit Committee announced an increase in membership dues that will take effect in 2023. The Chair of the AGM and the Chair of the Audit Committee answered questions from professional members about the dues increase.

15.0 CONSTITUENT ASSOCIATION REPORTS

The Chair noted that written reports from Constituency Associations are included in the Digital Resources section of the meeting platform.

16.0 REVIEW OF 2023 ELECTION PROCESS AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTION RESULTS

Blair Bisson, P.Eng., Chair of the Ballot Counting Committee, provided an overview of the ballot counting process and the results of the election.

For the office of First Vice-President, President Elect, the candidate who received the most votes was Tracey Stock, P.Eng.

For the office of Second Vice-President, the Vice-President, the candidate who received the second highest number of votes was Margaret Allan, P. Eng., P.Geo.

For the office of Councillor, the following five candidates received the highest number of votes and were declared elected for three-year terms:

- 1. Mihaela Ciulei, P.Eng.
- 2. Ken Hawrelko, P.Eng.
- 3. Geoffrey Kneller, P.Eng.
- 4. Jeffrey Priest, P.Eng.
- 5. Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng.

17.0 OBJECTION TO ELECTION RESULTS

No objections were received.

18.0 NEW BUSINESS

No resolutions to be considered for new business were received.

19.0 DATE AND LOCATION FOR THE 2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MOTION AGM 23-03

MOVED by Geoffrey Kneller, P. Eng., that the 2024 Annual General Meeting be held in Edmonton, Alberta, in person, electronically, or a combination of in person and electronic means on Friday, April 26, 2024.

The Chair reminded the assembly that per the Special Rules of the meeting, all motions are deemed seconded.

The Chair then called for a vote on the date for 2024 Annual General Meeting with the following results:

Number of votes cast: 831 Necessary for adoption (majority): 417 In favour: 798 Opposed: 33

The motion was adopted.

20.0 VESTING OF THE PAST-PRESIDENT

The AGM marks the final official duty of APEGA's President. Current president Lisa Doig, P. Eng. was presented with a vest, signalling the end of her term and she now joins the list of APEGA's Past-Presidents.

21.0 INDUCTION OF THE PRESIDENT

Manon Plante, P. Eng. was sworn in as APEGA's 104th President.

22.0 ADJOURMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.