

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL April 13, 2022 9:00 a.m.- 11:00 a.m. Microsoft Teams

MINUTES

Council Executive:

Brian Pearse, PEng. – President Lisa Doig, PEng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), MBA – President-Elect Manon Plante, PEng., MDS – Vice-President John Van der Put, PEng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) – Past-President

Councillors:

Darren Hardy, PEng.
Geoff Kneller, CD, PEng., MBA
Jason Vanderzwaag, MASc, PEng., LEED AP, PMP
Theresa Watson, PEng., MBA, JD
Tracey Stock, PEng., QMed, JD, MBA, PhD
Victoria Wishart, PEng.
Wally Kozak, PEng.

Public Members:

Mary Phillips-Rickey, FCA

Guests:

Candy Khan, Human Resources Consultant Tammy Pidner, Advisor

Staff:

Jay Nagendran, PEng., FCAE, ICD.D, FEC, FGC (Hon.), Registrar & CEO (RCEO) Matthew Oliver, CD, PEng., Deputy Registrar & Chief Regulatory Officer (CRO) Nancy Biamonte, ABC, Chief Professional Sustainability Officer Yvan Boutin, CPA, CA, Chief Financial & Corporate Officer Krista Nelson-Marciano, MBA, Director, Business Performance Zac Parsons, B.Comm, Senior Advisor & Director, Council Relations Dianne Johnstone, CPP, Director, Legislative Review & Government Relations (Remote) John Corriveau, PEng., Director, Regulatory Affairs (Remote) Colette Fernandes, Council Relations Manager Teresa Goldie, Executive Assistant to Council

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The Chair made opening remarks and reviewed Robert's Rules of Order (1.2) and Document Management (1.3).

2.0 AGENDA APPROVAL

Motion 22-SC01

Moved by Geoff Kneller and seconded by John Van der Put, THAT the April 13, 2022, agenda be adopted as presented.

Adopted unanimously.

3.0 NOMINATING COMMITTEE

3.1 Summary of Objective

The Chair summarized the two objectives for the special meeting: to appoint the members of the Nominating Committee and appoint the chair of the committee.

3.2 Background and Introduction of Consultant

The Senior Advisor & Director, Council Relations provided background on the steps that led to this meeting and introduced the Human Resources consultant who reviewed the credentials of each applicant and conducted the interviews.

3.3 Interview and Assessment Process

Candy Khan provided background on her experience and explained the process she followed to assess and rank each of the applicants.

3.4 Anonymous Council Poll of Applicants

Coucillors were asked to rank the candidates based on the consultant assessment and the discussion that followed using the number assigned to each applicant. Once all the rankings were completed the names of the candidates were revealed and added to the motion based on the rankings.

3.5 Appointment of Committee Members

Based on the rankings of all Councillors in attendance, the following motion was put forward:

Motion 22-SC02

Moved by Manon Plante and seconded by Wally Kozak THAT Council appoints the following individuals as members of APEGA's Nominating Committee for a one-year term 2022-2023:

- Lay Members:
 - 1. Len Polsky
 - 2. Shannon Neighbour
- Professional Members:
 - 1. Ganesh Chariyil
 - 2. George Eynon
 - 3. Ross Plecash
 - 4. Dave Rumbold
 - 5. Craig McFarland

Motion was adopted unanimously.

3.6 Process and Appointment of Committee Chair

The process for selecting the chair of the committee was explained and George Eynon was proposed as the Chair, no other names were suggested and so the following motion was put forward:

Motion 22-SC03

Moved by Geoff Kneller and seconded by Tracey Stock THAT Council appoints the following individual as chair of APEGA's Nominating Committee for a one-year term 2022-2023: George Eynon, P. Geo.

Motion was adopted unanimously.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT