

94th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.), Chair Westin Hotel - Manitoba/Saskatchewan Room Edmonton, Alberta April 26, 2014, 9:00 AM – 11:30 AM

APPROVED MINUTES

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Colin Yeo, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:02 AM

2.0 CREDENTIALS REPORT

Mark Flint, CEO, Chair of the Credentials Committee, reported that there were 114 Professional members present and registered, meeting the minimum of 60 Professional members required for quorum.

3.0* SPECIAL RULES FOR THE MEETING

MOTION 14-14

Moved by Jim Gilliland, President-Elect, that the Special Rules for the Meeting be as distributed and read. ADOPTED

4.0 APPOINTMENTS

The Chair then appointed Chelsea McNaughton as Recording Secretary, Rob James as the Parliamentarian, and Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., Brian Pearse, P.Eng., and Brad Hayes, P.Geol., as members of the Minutes Approval Committee.

5.0 * APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION 14-15

MOVED by Connie Parenteau, P. Eng., amended, THAT the proposed agenda be adopted, as approved by Council, and circulated and provided to each member at the time of registration at the AGM. ADOPTED

6.0 INTRODUCTION OF HEAD TABLE

The head table was introduced.

7.0 INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

Special Guests were introduced.

8.0 GREETINGS FROM GOVERNMENT OF ALBERTA

Lana Lougheed, Deputy Minister of the Department of Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour, brought greetings on behalf of the Government of Alberta.

9.0 GREETINGS FROM ENGINEERS CANADA

Jim Beckett, P.Eng., President of Engineers Canada, brought greetings on behalf of Engineers Canada.

10.0 GREETINGS FROM GEOSCIENTISTS CANADA

Greg Vogelsang, P.Eng, P.Geo., President of Geoscientists Canada, brought greetings on behalf of Geoscientists Canada.

11.0 GREETINGS FROM THE ASSOCIATION OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY PROFESSIONALS OF ALBERTA

Keith Galliot, C.E.T, President of ASET, brought greetings on behalf of ASET.

12.0 PAYMENT OF RESPECT TO MEMBERS DECEASED SINCE THE 2013 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

All present were asked to stand for a moment of silence.

13.0 MINUTES OF THE 2013 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Chair referred to the approved minutes of the 2013 Annual Meeting in the AGM folder that was provided to all members at registration.

14.0 BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was no business arising from the minutes.

15.0 ADDRESS OF THE PRESIDENT

Colin Yeo, President, presented his report.

16.0^{*} CEO'S REPORT

Mark Flint, P.Eng., CEO, presented his report.

17.0 * CONSTITUENT ASSOCIATION REPORTS

The Chair referred to three constituent reports in the AGM folder that was provided to all members at registration.

18.0 * ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTION RESULTS

For the office of First Vice-President, the candidate who received the most votes was Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.). The Chair declared Connie Parenteau elected First Vice-President and President-Elect.

For the office of Vice-President the candidate who received the second highest votes was Brian Pearse, P.Eng.. The Chair declared Brian Pearse elected Second Vice-President.

For the office of Councillor, the four candidates who received the highest number of votes declared elected as Councillors for a three year term are:

- 1. Lisa Doig, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
- 2. Mahsoo Naderi-Dasoar, P.Eng.
- 3. Terry Waters, P.Eng.
- 4. George Eynon, P.Geo., FGC

Due to the election of Councillor Brian Pearse as Vice President, a vacancy on Council was created for one year of the three year term. Pursuant to Section 8(3) of APEGA's Bylaws,

Chris Ketchum, P.Eng., was declared elected as Councillor for a one year term.

19.0 OBJECTION TO ELECTION RESULTS

There were no objections.

20.0 * AUDITOR'S REPORT

Chris Ketchum, P.Eng., presented the Auditor's Report.

Alan Rudosky, Associate Partner, representing Ernst & Young, LLP joined the AGM to answer questions. There were no questions.

21.0 APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2014

MOTION 14-16

MOVED by Chris Ketchum, as recommended by Council, THAT Ernst & Young, LLP be hereby appointed auditor for the Association for 2014, and that the Chief Executive Officer be authorized and instructed to set the remuneration of the auditor. ADOPTED.

22.0 * AMENDMENT TO THE APEGA BYLAWS

MOTION 14-17

MOVED by John Van der Put, P.Eng., as approved by Council, THAT Part 2 Section 2 of the APEGA bylaw be amended to read:

"A nominating committee shall be appointed at the annual meeting to serve for the ensuing year. The Committee shall consist of a minimum of eleven (11) professional members of the Association, one (1) of whom shall be the Past President or the designate of the Past President, who shall be the chair, and at

least two (2) of whom shall be current members of Council. Council shall fill any vacancies which may occur in the Nominating Committee." ADOPTED.

23.0 * APPOINTMENT OF NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR 2014/2015

MOTION 14-18

MOVED by Connie Parenteau, as recommended by Council, amended, THAT the following list of individuals be appointed to and form the Nominating Committee for the coming year, with retiring President Colin Yeo serving as the Chair. ADOPTED.

Calgary

John Duhault, P.Geoph. PetroBakken Energy Ltd. Calgary Alma Eamer, P.Geol. Paramount Energy

Sheldon Hudson, P.Eng. Al-Terra Engineering Ltd. Edmonton John Lehners, P.Eng. Beairsto Lehners Ketchum Engineering Ltd. Grande Prairie

Alan Newcombe, P.Eng. Delcan Corporation Calgary

Dave Rumbold, P.Eng., FEC

New Appointments Suggested:

Brad Anderson, P.Geol. Alberta Chamber of Resources Edmonton

Elizabeth Cannon, P.Eng., PhD, FEC, FGC (Hon.) University of Calgary Calgary

Wenona Irving, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) Bantrel Co. Edmonton

Chris Ketchum, P.Eng. E2 Engineering Lloydminster

Dave Lynch, P.Eng., PhD, FEC, FGC (Hon.) University of Alberta Edmonton

Craig McFarland, P.Eng. SKF Magnetic Bearings Calgary Spartan Controls Ltd Edmonton

Brad Smid, P.Eng. City of Edmonton Edmonton

Adrian Todeila, P.Eng. Norr Architects Engineers Planners Calgary

Larry Dublenko, P.Eng. Canadian Armed Forces Cold Lake

Kim Farwell, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) Syncrude Canada Ltd. Fort McMurray

Ian McIlreath, P.Geol., PhD, FGC, FEC (Hon.) Consultant Calgary

Jim Smith, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) The Winslow Group Grande Prairie

Terri Steeves, P.Eng. TransCanada Pipelines Ltd. Calgary

24.0 DATE FOR THE 2015 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MOTION 14-19

MOVED by Brian Pearse, P.Eng., seconded, THAT the 2015 AGM be held in Calgary on April 24, 2015. ADOPTED.

25.0 NEW BUSINESS

MOTION 14-20

MOVED by Prakash Mullick, P.Eng., seconded, THAT all attendees of the AGM observe a minute of silence to honour the workers killed on the job site. ADOPTED

MOTION 14-21

MOVED by Fang Hu, P.Eng., seconded, THAT APEGA change the complaints handling process to eliminate any complaint based on ideological/cultural ideas against members, to limit to the APEGA investigation exclusively on its members professional practice; to avoid any abuse of complaint investigation against minority members due to cultural backgrounds.

MOTION RULED NOT IN ORDER, because APEGA cannot refuse to receive complaints, and all complaints must be investigated as prescribed by legislation.

Mr. Fang Hu APPEALED, and seconded, the decision of the Chair. Mr. Hu was given time to debate. The decision of the Chair was SUSTAINED, Motion 14-21 was not in order.

MOTION 14-22

MOVED by Fang Hu, P.Eng., seconded, and debated, THAT the composition of the APEGA Investigative Committee reflect the multiculturalism of the APEGA membership. DEFEATED.

26.0 INDUCTION OF PRESIDENT

Colin Yeo thanked the membership for electing him President. Jim Gilliland was presented the Treaty 8 Medal.

27.0 ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 11:25 AM