APEGA

APPROVED

92nd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Jim Smith, P.Eng., FEC, Chair Shaw Conference Centre – Salon 4 Edmonton, Alberta Saturday, April 21, 2012, 9:00 am

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. President Jim Smith, P.Eng., FEC chaired the meeting.

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting, and announced that the AGM was connected to the Branches by webcasting.

2. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

One hundred and five (105) professional members registered to complete the quorum requirements stated in Bylaw 16(3), and approximately one hundred and thirty-eight (138) people were in attendance.

It was announced that, as required by Bylaw 16(2), notice of the meeting was published in the December 2011 edition of *The PEG* thus fulfilling the 90 day notification period to the membership. Parliamentarian for the meeting was Ross Plecash, P.Eng., and the meeting was conducted in accordance with the Robert's Rules of Order as per Bylaw 20-1.

3. RULES FOR THE MEETING

The rules for the meeting were reviewed.

4. INTRODUCTION OF HEAD TABLE

The platform participants were introduced as follows:

President

President

President Elect

Past President

Kim Farwell, P.Eng., FEC

Vice President Colin Yeo, P.Geo.
Chief Executive Officer Mark Flint, P.Eng.

5. INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

The introduction of several special visitors and guests were made.

7. PAYMENT OF RESPECT TO MEMBERS DECEASED SINCE THE 2011 ANNUAL MEETING

A moment of silence for deceased members was observed.

8. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTION RESULTS

The President announced the results of the election, as reported by the Ballot Counting Committee, as follows:

President: Leah Lawrence, P.Eng. President-Elect: Colin Yeo. P.Geo.

Vice-President: Chan Wirasinghe, P.Eng., PhD, FEC, FCAE

Councillors:

3 Year Term Steve Hrudey, P.Eng., PhD 3 Year Term Brian Pearse, P.Eng. 3 Year Term Terri Steeves, P.Eng.

3 Year Term John Van der Put, P.Eng., FEC

1 Year Term: George Eynon, P.Geo.

9. OBJECTION TO ELECTION RESULTS

As there were no objections to the election results, the President advised that, pursuant to Section 10(3) of the Bylaws, the ballots and tally sheets would be destroyed.

10. MINUTES OF 2011 GENERAL MEETING

MOVED BY JIM BECKETT AND SECONDED BY SHAWN MORRISON THAT the Minutes of the 2011 Annual General Meeting be approved as presented. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was no business arising from the minutes.

12. AUDITOR'S REPORT

MOVED BY KEN PORTEOUS AND SECONDED BY LARRY STAPLES
THAT the Financial Statements for the year ending December 31, 2011 be approved as published.
CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

13. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2012

MOVED BY KAREN HENRY AND SECONDED BY GEORGE EYNON That Kingston Ross Pasnak, LLP, be appointed as auditor for 2012. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

14. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Jim Smith, P.Eng., FEC, presented the President's report for the 2011/12 term as published in the Annual Report, and gave a review of information from 2011.

15. ANNUAL REPORTS OF BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND BRANCHES

MOVED BY HASAN RIZVI AND SECONDED BY KAREN HENRY THAT the annual reports of the Association and Branches be approved as presented. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

16. CONSTITUENT ASSOCIATION REPORTS

The President noted that there were reports in the member folders from the following associations: Professional Engineers Ontario, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Manitoba, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan, Engineers and Geoscientists New Brunswick, and Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

17. GREETINGS FROM ENGINEERS CANADA

Brent Smith, P.Eng., FEC, President of Engineers Canada, brought greetings, and highlighted Engineers Canada activities.

18. GREETINGS FROM GEOSCIENTISTS CANADA

James Moors, P.Geo., Past President of Geoscientists Canada, brought greetings and highlighted the activities of Geoscientists Canada.

19. GREETINGS FROM THE ASSOCIATION OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY PROFESSIONALS OF ALBERTA (ASET)

Elizabeth McDonald, P.Tech.(Eng.), Past President of ASET, brought greetings, and highlighted activities of the Association of Science and Engineering Technology Professionals of Alberta.

20. NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business.

21. APPOINTMENT OF NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR 2012/13

The recommended composition of the 2012/13 Nominating Committee was presented, and further recommendations requested from the floor.

Professional member, Heidi Yang, recommended that John Lehners P.Eng., be added to the roster for the Nominating Committee.

MOVED BY SUZANNE KRESTA AND SECONDED BY SHAWN MORRISON

THAT the recommendation for composition of the 2012/13 Nominating Committee be approved as amended.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

22. DATES FOR THE 2013 AND 2014 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETINGS

MOVED BY JOHN VAN DER PUT AND SECONDED BY KEN PORTEOUS

That the dates and locations of April 20, 2013 in Calgary, and April 26, 2014 in Edmonton, be approved for future Annual General Meetings.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

23. STAKEHOLDERS' FORUM

There was discussion regarding recent statements made by The Honourable Jason Kenney, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism, regarding pre-assessment qualifications of individuals that choose to come to Canada, and the desire to make that process more efficient.

Marie Carter, COO and Interim CEO of Engineers Canada said that the intent looks like a bill could be introduced into parliament this calendar year which limits the amount of time the professions have to influence the policy-making, and put forward the perspective of the professions.

24. INDUCTION OF PRESIDENT

Outgoing President, Jim Smith, P.Eng., FEC, introduced the incoming President, Leah Lawrence, P.Eng., who read and declared the Oath of Office of the President, and then thanked members of the Executive Committee for their support

Ms. Lawrence spoke of current issues and concerns, the challenges ahead, and stated that it is the duty of our professions to provide leadership and information to the public.

Past President, Jim Smith, presented the Treaty 8 Medallion to newly sworn-in President, Leah Lawrence.

22. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED BY SUZANNE KRESTA AND SECONDED BY GORDON WILLIAMS THAT the meeting be adjourned at 11:20 a.m. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY