



For Immediate Release May 29, 2020

Alberta engineering and geoscience excellence to be honoured at 2021 Summit Awards Gala

Edmonton – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to celebrate the following 10 champions of leadership and excellence in professional engineering and professional geoscience in Alberta. Due to the ongoing global pandemic, we are unable to gather to celebrate their achievements in 2020. These recipients will be honoured next year at the Summit Awards Gala in Calgary on Thursday, April 22, 2021.

Alison Thompson, P.Eng., received the Centennial Leadership Award for her work spearheading the growth of geothermal energy in Canada and establishing an advocacy organization to remove industry roadblocks.

Michael Halliwell, P.Eng., received the Community Service Award for his volunteer work as a medical first responder with St. John Ambulance and his dedication to many charitable endeavours.

Bipro Dhar, P.Eng., PhD, received the Early Accomplishment Award for his outstanding dedication to research in bioenergy and value-added resource recovery.

Jason Carey, P.Eng., PhD, received the Excellence in Education Award for his commitment to innovation in the classroom and forward-thinking approach to inspire the next generation of engineers.

James Popowich, P.Eng., received the Outstanding Mentor Award for his passion for preparing university graduates for their future careers through scenario-based learning.

Amit Kumar, P.Eng., PhD, received the Research Excellence Award for advancing the study of energy systems in Canada, which help government and industry make informed decisions on clean energy technologies.

Ania Ulrich, P.Eng., PhD, received the Women in Engineering and Geoscience Champion Award for promoting diversity and gender equality in engineering through community outreach programs and working tirelessly to improve policies and hiring practices.

The **Bioengineering Demonstration and Education Project** received the Environment and Sustainability Award for its work restoring the Bow River shoreline with nature-friendly alternatives to conventional flood mitigation techniques following the 2013 Calgary flood.

Marcelo Epstein, P.Eng., PhD, received the Frank Spragins Technical Award for his contributions to the fields of continuum mechanics and the biomechanics of soft-tissue growth and remodelling.

The **Sylvan Lake Regional Wastewater System** received the Project Achievement Award for its innovative approach to wastewater-system hydraulics and dedication to out-of-the-box thinking to meet critical project timelines.

The APEGA Summit Awards honour leading individuals and projects in professional engineering and geoscience for their role in building stronger communities across Alberta.

Established in 1920, APEGA regulates the practices of engineering and geoscience to serve the public interest in Alberta.

- 30 -

Attachment: <u>Biography backgrounders attached</u>. Note: A zip file of high-resolution images of all award recipients is available <u>here</u>.

For more information, please contact: Katie Starratt Director, Communications Tel: 587-489-1593 or toll free 1-800-661-7020 katie.starratt@apega.ca www.apega.ca