

NEWS RELEASE

For immediate release March 11, 2020

APEGA announces new president, executive and councillors

Edmonton – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to announce that John Van der Put, P.Eng., will become APEGA's 101st president at the 2020 annual general meeting in Edmonton on Friday, April 24.

Van der Put, a professional engineer, has been active in the upstream oil and gas industry for more than 35 years, holding various positions in process engineering and project executive leadership. He is a pipeline project manager with Woodfibre LNG, where he is overseeing the development and construction of a FortisBC pipeline system expansion. He is a Fellow of Engineers Canada and an Honorary Fellow of Geoscientists Canada.

Van der Put will lead APEGA's executive committee of council, which comprises newly elected president-elect Brian Pearse, P.Eng.; newly elected vice-president Lisa Doig, P.Eng.; and current president George Eynon, P.Geo., who will transition into the role of past-president.

APEGA will also welcome re-elected council members Darren Hardy, P.Eng.; and RaeAnne Leach, P.Eng.; as well as newly elected council members Margaret Allan, P.Eng., P.Geo.; and Theresa Watson, P.Eng.

They will join their colleagues who are continuing their terms: Claudia Villeneuve, P.Eng.; Jennifer Enns, P.Eng.; Tim Hohm, P.Eng.; Walter Kozak, P.Eng.; David Johnson, P.Geo.; Manon Plante, P.Eng.; Melanie Popp, P.Eng.; Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng.

Established in 1920, APEGA is responsible for regulating the practices of engineering and geoscience in the province of Alberta.

- 30 -

Backgrounder: Biography backgrounders attached.

Note: A zip file of high-resolution images of new council members is available for download.

YouTube: Click here to see videos for the 2020 APEGA council election.

For more information, please contact:

Jordan Allan Communications Specialist Tel: 587-489-1557 or toll free 1-800-661-7020 jordan.allan@apega.ca www.apega.ca