

NEWS RELEASE

For immediate release March 18, 2019

APEGA announces new president, executive and councillors

Edmonton – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to announce that George Eynon, P.Geo., will become APEGA's 100th president at the 2019 annual general meeting in Calgary on Friday, April 26.

Eynon, a professional geoscientist, has worked in oil and gas exploration and development in Canada and internationally for more than two decades. He has moved through increasingly senior technical, management, and executive positions, providing energy resources consulting and research services. He has also been appointed as a member of the Energy Resources Conservation Board (now called the Alberta Energy Regulator).

Eynon will lead APEGA's executive committee of council, which comprises newly elected presidentelect John Van der Put, P.Eng.; re-elected vice-president Tim Joseph, P.Eng.; and current president Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., who will transition into the role of past-president.

APEGA will also welcome re-elected council members Manon Plante, P.Eng.; and Jason Vanderzwaag, P.Eng.; as well as newly elected council members David Johnson, P.Geo.; and Melanie Popp, P.Eng.

They will join their colleagues who are continuing their terms: Bob Rundle, P.Eng.; Darren Hardy, P.Eng.; RaeAnne Leach, P.Eng.; Emily Zhang, P.Eng.; Claudia Villeneuve, P.Eng.; Jennifer Enns, P.Eng.; Tim Hohm, P.Eng.; and Walter Kozak, P.Eng.

Established in 1920, APEGA is responsible for regulating the practices of engineering and geoscience in the province of Alberta.

- 30 -

Backgrounder: Biography backgrounders attached.

Note: A zip file of high-resolution images of new council members is available for download.

YouTube: Click here to see videos for the 2019 APEGA council election.

For more information, please contact:

Gisela Hippolt-Squair, BA
Assistant Director, Communications
Tel: 587-489-1567 or toll free 1-800-661-7020
gisela.hippoltsquair@apega.ca
www.apega.ca