

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For immediate release March 31, 2016

## APEGA announces new executive and councillors

**Edmonton** – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to announce that Steve E. Hrudey, P.Eng., PhD, will become APEGA president at the 2016 Annual General Meeting in Edmonton on Friday, April 22.

Hrudey, a professional engineer, is a University of Alberta Professor Emeritus and currently principal of his own environmental risk-consulting firm. He's had a diverse, interdisciplinary career in environmental engineering focusing on water safety and has received substantial recognition for his work.

Hrudey will lead APEGA's new executive committee that includes newly elected president-elect Jane Tink, P.Eng., and vice-president John Rhind., P.Geol. Current president Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., will continue in the role of past-president.

APEGA will also welcome re-elected council member Brad Hayes, P.Geol., PhD and newly elected council members Timothy Joseph, P.Eng., PhD.; Darren Hardy, P.Eng.; Manon Plante, P.Eng.; and Natasha Pounder, P.Eng.

Council members resuming their term are Jeff DiBattista, P.Eng., PhD; Lisa Doig, P.Eng.; Jennifer Enns, P.Eng.; George Eynon, P.Geo.; Mahsoo Naderi-Dasoar, P.Eng.; Art Washuta, P.Eng.; and Terence Waters, P.Eng.

Established in 1920, APEGA is responsible for regulating the practices of engineering and geoscience in the province of Alberta.

- 30 -

Backgrounders: Click here to view biography backgrounders

Note: Photos of council members are available by emailing mpawlowski@apega.ca

## For more information, please contact:

Philip Mulder, APR
Director, Communications

Tel: (780) 426-3990 or toll free 1-800-661-7020

Cell: (780) 499-3873 pmulder@apega.ca www.apega.ca