

NEWS RELEASE

APEGA announces new president, executive, council members

Edmonton – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to announce Jim Gilliland, P.Eng., PhD has been sworn in as APEGA's new president at the 2014 Summit Annual General Meeting and Conference this past Saturday, April 26.

Gilliland is regional director, southern Alberta, for Williams Engineering Canada Inc. He holds a B.Sc. in civil engineering and a M.Sc. in structural engineering from Queens University, along with a PhD in structural engineering from University of Calgary.

Gilliland leads APEGA's new executive committee including recently elected president-elect, Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., and vice-president Brian Pearse, P.Eng. Colin Yeo, P.Geo., outgoing president, stays on the executive as past-president.

APEGA also welcomes newly-elected council members Lisa Doig, P.Eng., Mahsoo Naderi-Dasoar, P.Eng., and Terence Waters, P.Eng.

George Eynon, P.Geo., and Chris Ketchum, P.Eng., won re-election. Council members resuming their term are Brad Hayes, P.Geol., Steve Hrudey, P.Eng., Wenona Irving, P.Eng., Paul Knowles, P.Eng., Craig McFarland, P.Eng., Terri Steeves, P.Eng. and John Van der Put, P.Eng.

Established in 1920, APEGA is responsible for regulating the practices of engineering and geoscience in the province of Alberta. The association's more than 73,000 members play a significant role in every segment of the economy, and their technical and management expertise ensure Alberta remains at the forefront of technological innovation.

- 30 -

Note: photos of council members are available by emailing rliebrecht@apega.ca

For more information, please contact:

Philip Mulder, APR Director, Communications, APEGA

Cell: 780-499-3873

E-mail: pmulder@apega.ca